Skip to content
Open menu Close menu

Feed your appetite for cooking with Penguin’s expert authors

penguin logo

The Cook You Want To Be

Written by

Andy Baraghani

Andy Baraghani Cover

Who’s the author? Andy Baraghani is the talented chef and recipe developer behind many of Bon Appetit’s viral dishes. He’s known for creating stunning food with minimum fuss, and for re-working familiar recipes in unexpected ways. 

What’s it about? In his debut cookbook, Andy Barhaghani combines the Iranian home cooking of his childhood with his professional training as a chef, setting out over 120 truly distinctive recipes, all created according to a rigorously fuss-free, flavour-focussed ethos. ‘I crave simple, delicious cooking rather than dishes that are overly complicated’, writes Andy, and that’s just what The Cook You Want To Be is all about. Readers will find transformative midweek meals, punchy snacks, and recipes that will take your weekend cooking to new heights. From breakfasts, salads, and soups to grains, fish, and meat, Andy’s recipes are vibrant, surprising, and effortlessly stylish. 

More than a simple recipe book, however, The Cook You Want To Be is designed to expand your skillset, empowering you to improvise in the kitchen. Throughout the book Andy shares his convictions, key lessons, and “cooking rules”, with tips on how to choose the right tools, how to remedy kitchen disasters, and how to make perfect aioli. Readers will discover sections like “Pasta Lessons”, “Three Memorable-As-Hell Steaks”, and “What Makes The Best Pickle Brine?”, as well as a guide to essential store cupboard ingredients and a stripped-back cooking toolkit. If you want to transform your cooking, broaden your repertoire, and put your own unique stamp on the food you make, The Cook You Want To Be is the book for you. 

Recipes we love: Roasted Beetroot with Mint and Sesame, Pomegranate-glazed Chicken Legs with Buttery Almonds, Caramelised Sweet Potatoes with Browned Butter Harissa, Sticky, Spicy Basil Shrimp, and Big Shells with Spicy Lamb Sausage and Pistachio. 

Perfect for: Fans of Yotam Ottolenghi, Samin Nosrat, and Molly Baz will love this book, as will anyone who enjoys Middle Eastern-inspired flavours. 

newsletter

Subscribe to The Happy Foodie email newsletter

Get our latest recipes, features, book news and ebook deals straight to your inbox every week